• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is Burning in a chip?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KD

Registered
I'm new to this and I'm trying to OC my PIII 700 cBO and I have a quick question. What is Burning in a chip? My system runs good at 910 MHz at 1.75v but after system is shut down and started again, it starts up as 701 MHz. Does my chip need to be burned in or something so it stays at 910 MHz?

Thank you

CUSL2 motherboard
PIII 700 cBO at 910MHz (sometimes)
1.75v, Temp 35C at idle 38C at play
256m pc133 (not sure what brand but its suppost to be good)
Volcano II fan - Are these suppost to be good?
SBLive
Internal Video - for now
Maxter 30GB-7200

Its a known bug with your motherboard.
It resets to default voltage and speed when rebooted.
Check with asus web site.

burning in a chip is running at the default speed at a higher voltage using a CPU intensive application such as Prime95, SiSoft Burn In, Folding@Home, etc. It usually allows the CPU to overclock a tad higher and run at lower temperatures.

also 35 degrees at idle is hell on your chip, get a better HSF, im running at 18(in the mornings)-25 when running my CPU at 100%

maxtor hd's arent very cooperative in overclocking...just something i picked up while reading a little.