• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

p3 733 o/c help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Railskinner

Registered
i'm a newbie to ocing a pentium3, what do u have to do to get this chip to oc,
this is my system
p3 733
abit VL6
3d blaster annihlator 32 meg geforce mx2 video card
256 pc 133 ram
20 gig maxtor hd 7200 rpm ata 66
32 x cd rom
300 watt power supply
any help would be gr8!

Basically you need to go into the bios and set for "user defined" on the first sub-menu. Just keep scrolling through the options and you should find it. Here you can adjust your fsb and that will alter the speed your cpu will run at. Make sure you change you dividers for AGP and PCI settings so that you don't drive them way out of spec.

I'm not familiar with your particular mobo but the manual will/should have the info. My board is a 440BX chipset so I only have 2/3 divider for AGP and 1/4 for PCI, AGP bus spec is 66Mhz and PCI is 33Mhz. Your peripherals look good and as such should not give you any problems when overclocking.

Your CPU is a P3-550E but Intel tested it and found it to be stable when overclocked @ 733 so they sold it as a P3-733EB. Your FSB is already @ 133 and you can expect to be able to go to 150 - but if you are using a stock HSF you may have to change it for a better one, also, be sure to have adequate case cooling/ventilation, your HSF won't do squat if you don't give it the cool air to work with. You will also probably need to increase the Vcore to about 1.8~1.9v to maintain stability, but this adds more heat of course.