Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

More Voltage = BAD?

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-19-05, 03:38 PM Thread Starter   #1
genjaguar
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
More Voltage = BAD?


Well I'm not sure what is going on or if it means osmething. I'm trying to run 240HTT at 10x on the cpu at 1.525vcore. I'm also trying to run my RAM at 1:1 at 2.5-3-3-10. I ran memtest at 2.7vdimm overnight and in 33 passes it had just 1 error in test 7. I figured it means I should add some more voltage. So I tried prime blend test at 2.8vdimm and it fails within a minute. I then tried it at 2.5vdimm and it went 2-3 minutes. I raised it a little to 2.55vdimm and it ran for 10 minutes. What could this mean?
genjaguar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 03:40 PM   #2
stang8118
Member

 
stang8118's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2004
Location: Philly, PA

 
I have mushkin value ram w/o heat spreaders, and i feed it 24/7 3.0v. Some memory i guess just doesn't like higher voltages, or maybe you should loosen up your timings? My timings are 2.5, 4, 4, 7.

__________________
Intel i5 4570 - Asus Z87C - G Skill 2x4gb
Corsair 750w Modular - Antec 300 - ATI HD7850OC

Retired 3dmark Captain
Heatware 110-0-0
stang8118 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 05:16 PM   #3
EvilCloudStrife
R. Kelly is my roll model

 
EvilCloudStrife's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Mesa, Arizona

10 Year Badge
 
Does the higher Voltage like 2.8-3.2v kill the ram? thats what i really want to know.. how much life does it take off of it?

__________________
Name: Apocalypse
Motherboard: DFI NF4 Ultra-D Bios 623-3
CPU: AMD 939 Opteron 148 CABYE 0536 & XP-120 W/ Sanyo Denki 120mm Fan - 11x264 - 2900Mhz - 1.52V - 25C Idle - 38C Load
RAM: OCZ Gold Edition 2GB (2 x 1GB) - UCCC - 1:1 - 264Mhz - 3-4-3-8 - 2.68V
Videocard: Evga 7800GT 256-P2-N518 (500/1200)
DVD: NEC 16XDVD+/-RW
Hard Drives: (1)Western Digital 7200 250GB 16MB SATA2, (2)Western Digital 7200 250GB 16MB SATA2, Western Digital 7200 200GB 8MB IDE, (1) Westen Digital 7200 250GB 2MB IDE, (2) Western Digital 7200 250GB 2MB IDE, (3) Removable Western Digital 7200 250GB 2MB USB2 Enclosure
PSU: OCZ 520W SLI Powerstream

Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoloy card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game UNO
EvilCloudStrife is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 06:12 PM   #4
Helsyeah
Made the Cookies Crumble



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ID

10 Year Badge
 
On certain memory you can safely run over 3.3 vdimm 24/7 with no issue, other than needing to add a fan over it to keep it cool. With your ram, im pretty sure the mushkin lvl2 v2 black is tccd. Some tccd responds to voltages over 3.0v and gains stability and higher overclocks. On the other hand, some TCCD actually does worse with voltages over 2.75 volts.

From what you have mentioned, i would go ahead and go up to a voltage of 2.9ish and see if you stailize. If that doesnt work do as was suggested and try loosening some of the timings a bit....

__________________
heat________Fold on!

Folding User Stats
Helsyeah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 08:47 PM Thread Starter   #5
genjaguar
Member



Join Date: Jan 2005

 
Would prime failing make it a cpu test or ram test. Memtest passes it with just 1 error so I figured the memory was fine.
genjaguar is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 08:58 PM   #6
Helsyeah
Made the Cookies Crumble



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: ID

10 Year Badge
 
Depending on how long you let memtest run, you may already be able to rule the memory out as the cause of prime failing. Prime can fail for any number of reasons. To truly rule the memory out as a possible culprit loop memtest test #5 for 8 hours. If memtest does not show any errors then your memory is more than likely good. At that point you should probably look at your processor and see what you can do to get it prime stable, lower the OC, up the voltage a tad, etc...

__________________
heat________Fold on!

Folding User Stats
Helsyeah is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-19-05, 08:59 PM   #7
rseven
Member



Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New Jersey

 
Yes, there is probably some other issue besides the ram. No, one error is not okay even in 24 hours.
rseven is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Memory
Memory
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?