• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

question on microsoft's .net programing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ndnsoulja

Registered
hello, im kinda new to this programing and we're learning gui right now. and we are using microsoft .net complier. when i start my project i make it as a windows form application. after i'm through with my programing at stuff i want to be able send the application to my friends so they can use it. for example: we're building a calculator and i want to send it to a friend so he can use it (not the program) but the finished product the actual gui calculator. i thought i could send thim the "calculator.exe" from the debug file but he says that didn't work. so any help will be appreciated. thanks.

Any program written in .NET depends on the common language runtime (CLR). The program you wrote is not in itself native code (that can be run on its own), it's in intermediate code that needs the .NET runtime environment to run it.

So your friend needs to go to windows update and get the .NET runtime (also called the CLR).

EDIT: I wanted to add that anything written in .NET languages C#, VB.net, c++.net, j# needs the CLR. These are called managed languages because they require the runtime to execute. If you wrote something through MFC C++, which is unmanaged, you wouldn't need the runtime... you would need the MFC dll though.:p

Last edited:
To add to what mccoyn said, if he downloads it as a redistributable, make sure he gets the service pack (either through windows update or the link below). It fixes a lot of bugs.

.Net Framework 1.1 Service Pack 1

Oh and by the way if you're using visual studio.net 2003 another way to do this is through a deployment project. First you need to install the bootstrapper located here:

Visual Studio.Net 2003 Bootstrapper Plugin