• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD AltlonXP2400+ overclocking?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Enrich

Hi guys. I am in need of some help here.
First My spec's:
MainBoard: KM4M-V
CPU: AMD AltlonXP2400+ (FSB set to 133)
VGA: Radeon 9600xt 128mb
Memory 1 pc2700 512mb & 1 pc3200 256mb

Problem:
I want to over clock. I have enought cooling. Anyways, I want to overclock my CPU. I want more speed out of it. So I tried to set my FSB to 166 but it just crashed. This is my first time overclocking my computer. I have read the guide on it. So I know whats what. Help me please : )

Thanks,
Enrich

The board supports 333 FSB, so you're ok there. Try raising the CPU voltage, and see if that helps. Try 1.7v, and see if that works, and if not, slowly increase it till you get to 1.8v.

Hi and welcome to the forums!
First thing to note is you are trying to run before you can walk. Start more incrementally when raising your FSB dont just jump to 166 from 133 go up in much smaller steps (assuming your bios allows you to do that).
I assume you have a Tbred 2400 so default is 133 x 15 and just jumping to 166 x 15 is 2.5Ghz which is more than most Tbreds can handle on air cooling! Once you hit instability when increasing FSB then look to increase vcore.

OC detective is on top of it as usual ... tou could also lower the multipler to 10 in the bios or via dipswitches on your mobo and shiit for the highest fsb you can hit. mt thornton hits 166 with only a 6% voltage increase for 2.241GHZ so yours should also.

Yes he could multi adjust if it were an unlocked Tbred i.e pre week 39 2003. However he would also have to mod the cpu to get the lower multis (below 13) as I dont think his mobo recognises the 8x bit of the multi.