• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

In need of some career guidance...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Odie812

Well, my first post in a while, but in any case, this is the situation:

I am 20 and halfway through getting a degree in music performance. After careful consideration, I have decided that this is not what I want to do for many, many reasons.

My intention is to pursue education in my other love: computers. I am self-taught to this point. I don't know any programming languages but did take some basic computer science in high school, and have built many systems myself and know the ins and outs pretty well. I would certainly call myself an enthusiast at the very least.

That said, I don't really know anything about what I should be looking into as far as majoring and the whole education process end of it. I was wondering if all of you guys who are actually doing things in our field could point the way a little bit.

The other concern is that I've been out of the whole "college education" thing for so long that I may have to take some basic classes again. I have smarts and am much more inclined with mathematics, but again I have to plead ignorance, and don't have a clue what to expect.

If it helps, this is the school I will be going to when I get out of Boston.

I realize my questions are vague, but I don't know how to be more specific about it at this point. So, help me help you... help me :) by asking me to clarify if necessary. Thanks.

Sincerely,

Odie