• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with choice of RAID controller

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Panzerknacker

Disabled
To start this, I decided to built a fileserver for storing all my stuff. I don't want to upgrade my main rig's harddrives all the time, so I just got myself a huge case with space for many drives. I also want reliability, so I'm going for a RAID1 array at least.

I'm very new to all of this, and I have no idea what raid controllers to look at. The system I'm using is a MSI mobo with VIA KT266 chipset, XP 2400+ and 768MB of PC2100. It has regular PCI slots.

What I want to start with is something reliable, about 4 SATA ports, support for RAID1 and affordable. And a bit fast doesnt hurt as well. Are there cheap controllers with 8 ports?

And what about when in the future, I have two RAID1 arrays on the controller (or maybe if it supports a RAID that uses four drives while allowing one to fail without losing data), can I then just add another controller or won't my PCI bus like that?

I want to spend about $150 max on the raid controller. Hope I can get something for that money :p

Last edited:
The cheapest 8-port RAID cards are probably going to be Promise or Highpoint. You're still looking at over $150 (although not by much in a couple of the Promise cards). However, you're not really gaining anything over an embedded RAID solution other than the extra ports as their still not true hardware cards. For a true hardware RAID card with 8-ports, expect in the upwards of $300.

True hardware 4-port cards are going to cost about as much - $200+ range.