• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking my thunderbird 800?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tcccomp

I want to overclock my 800 can anyone help me get started?

This is my system
thunderbird 800
shuttle ak31 ver3
256 ddr memory
geforce2 mx 400

Please someone help me.. I know there is someone that knows the answer.. I am new at this so I need all the help I can get..

TCCCOMP

ok welcome to the forums
go to the overclockers.com main page and go to the beginner guides ... read them and try to understand them ... then if you have questions feel free to ask them to us ... we will be glad to help you out.

well said:) just keep in mind temperature is the enmey so u have to have a good Heatsink and fan. Overclocking takes place in the Bios of your computer. you either higher the multiplyer, or higher the FSB (front side Bus) or both, or lower one or the other. you have to experiment see what works. "dont get mad, get glad."
Just read u pthats all you can really do.

Alright! I had a TBird 800 - fun chip. Inexpensive, too, so if you toast it, no biggie! J/K...

Mine would go up to 1030 - most Thunderbirds below 1GHz, whether they were 750s or 950s, usually cap out at just above 1 GHz - don't expect too much more than this. It's a function of the old aluminum interconnect manufacturing process that limits it, but that's another story.

Your AK31 should have most of the settings you'll need to modify in BIOS. If you don't know how to get into BIOS, you'll need to do some more basic research before going any further. If you can do this, you're golden. Assuming your cooling is adequate and your machine is put together correctly, off we go.