• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

ClockGen mobo question.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

nocards

Let me apologize in advance if this is a stupid question, or in the wrong place, I'm very new to OCing something beside a GPU.

I put this here because I have this mobo : ASUS A8V Deluxe.

My question is hopefully general and easy for you to answer.

I used clockGen, and it lets me bump my speed up nothing major. I have a FX-60 and I'm looking to bump the clock up from 2.6 to 2.8.

My question is, I did it and it seemed like it worked, everything is reading at the new speeds I set... But the voltage doesn't change. Don't I need to increase it from it's 1.350 default?

I feel like a punk or something using clockGen, it's seems so candified and "nocards friendly" I have been in my bios and I see everything you are supposed to change when overclocking and it seems too daunting for me.

So with ClockGen, do I need to go in and change the voltage? I can do that, I know where it is and how to change it, just afraid to. If the answer is yes, what do I change it to approx? I just want to get a bit of a boost, I'm not looking to test my system limits.

If you need more specific info from me please let me know, and again, I am sorry if this is in the wrong spot or a really stupid question.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

Unless they released some major update to clockgen that I dont know about, you cant adjust vcore through clockgen. You have to do it through the bios.

:welcome: to the boards!