• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Problem with clocking E6600 conroe

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

doeboy

I’ve been trying to clock my new E6600 but I’ve found that @ the stock 1.325v its stable at a poor 2.7GHz max. Is this usual? I’ve found that the average person reaches around 3.2 – 3.4 with stock voltage. I can get it to 3.2 but I have to up the voltage in bios to 1.475 which is pretty high and I’ve read will shorten the life of the CPU by quite a bit! Am I doing something wrong here? I’m using air cooling but it’s a zalman flower 9700 with 110mm fan which is pretty damn good at cooling.

I’m new to overclocking and don’t have any software to measure but I’ve found the machine stable in apps and games on all speeds so far, it’s just I don’t see why I have to up the voltage so far when others don’t need to touch it. I mean if 2.7 is this chips max it must be one of the worst ever made!

E6600 @ 2.7 1.325v
Abit Ab9 Pro with Uguru bios clocking feature.
Msi 8800GTX 630/2026
2GB DDR2 OCZ Platnum XTC 6400 4-5-4-15
Antec 900 case
Coolermaster 650w PSU

Oh man I want to try out one of those Antec 900's. Cool looking case!

As far as the E6600...I am a NOOB at OCing but it sounds like you might have gotten a bum chip. Most guys can reach 3.0ghz. I am currently @3.0 using 1.2500v set in BIOS. Maybe you can lower your RAM setytings to get it to that 1:1 ratio...I have read sometimes this helps . I have my DDR2800 set to DDR2600 in BIOS. Hope it helps

Every CPU is different. I wouldn't be too nervous about 1.475v. That's not high enough to cause any noticeable damage. 1.5-1.55 is where I'd stop if needed. There's a chance you just have a voltage lover, or perhaps the mount on your heatsink isn't as good as it could be.

doeboy said: