• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New OC help!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dawgdoc

I am new to overclocking and have read quite a bit here as well as other forums.

One thing that I am confused about, are some of the applications used for overclocking. For example, how do you check Vcore? Is this is a seperate utility program? Buried somewhere in windows?

I have seen the sticky at the top of this thread with all of the links to a TON of different utility programs but that is just way too overwhelming.

Can someone direct me someplace where I can get the basic OC/benchmarking type of program necessary to begin overclocking?

Thanks,

Dawgdoc

Hello Dawgdoc,

:welcome: to the Forums and to the world of overclocking!

As you may or may not realize, overclocking isn't particularly done through software (unless you are hardware limited, or prefer not to tinker with BIOS settings). But if you wish to attempt to overclock your CPU through a Windows program, then you might be interested in checking out --ClockGen--. If you want to overclock other parts of your computer such as your Videocard, then you would want take a look at either --ATI Tool-- or --Coolbits--.

As far as monitoring and spec programs go, there are a vast majority out there that do similar jobs. Two of the most popular would be --CPU-Z-- and --Everest--.

When looking into benchmarking programs, you would want to look for programs which stress the overclock affected parts of your computer and programs which would give you a numerical representation of how much your computer has improved. Many programs can be found just by using the forum search tool, but here are some of the most common.

• [*] Prim95 - This particularly stresses your CPU and Memory to determine if your overclock is stable.