• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Which DSLR ?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PhysX

Looking for at least 10MP. I'm an armature photographer, but wanna get some better pics with a new camera.

Can't Decided between the XTi & 30D, any place i can find sample photos that these cameras took ?

I like to shoot nikon, but canon is nice too. I would say spend less on the body, more on the lenses.

Hmm 400D or 30D... Image quality will be exactly the same 90% of the time. The difference between these cameras is the available settings. 30D has faster FPS, slightly better higher ISO quality and a bunch of random stuff. Technically it is the better camera. What do you plan on taking pictures of?

My personal recommendation would be for the Canon Rebel XT or XTi (350D/400D). Most of the money and quality in SLR cameras is in the lenses, not the body. I'd get the Rebel XT which comes with a 17-55 lens, save some money on body and spend it on lenses.
Buy the camera and after a month or so see what you enjoy shooting the most then start buying lenses to work with what you want to do.
Get a 10-20mm Sigma if you enjoy nature shots or architecture.
For sure get a Canon 50mm F/1.8, its $80 and you will learn all about Bokeh and depth of field with it, amazingly fun lens.
And if you want to shoot animals or stuff farther away get a 70-200 F/4L. Wonderful quality and versatile lens, second best buy in the canon lineup.