• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need Help Overclocking Amd 5200

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Coldblood06

Registered
First my spec.

Main Board- Gigabyte Ga-M55SLI-S4- AM2
Cpu- Amd Amt 64 X2 5200 currently 2.61 GHz 2M Cache
Cpu cooling- Salmon Copper CNPS 9500
Ram-Corsair XMS2 Dominators 2GB DDR2 800- timing 4-4-4-12
Graphics- BFG 8800 GTX- timing version

I am completely new to completely, guess you can say i am a noob. But i am Not an idiot when it comes to computers one bit, its what i do. Just have never overclocked before. I want to safely overclock my cpu to at least i hope 2.8 GHz.

My Gigabyte board did come with the easytune utility but as i said i do not want to do what i might regret.

I have done plenty of reading i just don't feel confident without guidance. I know that the ghz is calculated by the fsb and multiplier. My multiplier is at 16and the HTT is at 193.7. Voltage is 1.328(Info gathered from CPU-7).

Any help is glady appreciated.

:welcome:

Manually set the vcore to 1.35 for starters and depending on PSU and mobo you may need to raise it to 1.375. These are inside the AMD ranges so just work with them for now. Ram the same thing, stay between 1.8 and 2.0 for DDR2 later you can raise them when you get used to how the system reacts.

I'm confused how you got the HTT to 193.7 unless thats 1937. Also the multi on a 5200 is 13.
Stock 200 x 13 = 2600, some systems clock a little off which may explain the odd numbers.