Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Problem with boot

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-31-07, 07:50 PM Thread Starter   #1
MM2613
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
Problem with boot


I just rebuilt my comptuer with a new mobo (cheap socket 754 stuff). Everything seems to be connected correctly, the computer turns on and there is no error code (beep).

The screen is not getting a signal and the keyboard (although it flashes to show that it is powered when I put on the pc) is not responsive.

anyone know what could be the problem?
MM2613 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-31-07, 08:26 PM   #2
seamadan000
Member

 
seamadan000's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Omaha, somewhere in middle america

10 Year Badge
 
This may sound silly, but once I forgot to plug in the case speaker to the motherboard, and hence I could not hear the motherboard was telling me the video adapter was failing.

If that is not the case, does your motherboard have an LED that indicates it is getting power? That is often helpful in eliminating the PSU as a problem.

Is there any activity at all when you hit the switch- fans spinning or the PSU reacting in any way?

__________________
i be foldin' and you should be!

i7-920 @ 4.02Ghz

Heatware
seamadan000 is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-31-07, 09:57 PM Thread Starter   #3
MM2613
Registered



Join Date: Dec 2004

 
I actually got it to boot once, by removing a memory stick. When i put the stick back in, I could smell burning. I'm thinking that it was a faulty board that has now fried my memory... has this ever happened to anyone.
MM2613 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-31-07, 10:03 PM   #4
billb
Member

 
billb's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005

 
You're using your old hard drive and all the drivers on it are for the old motherboard, chipset, etc.. You'll most likely have to reinstall windows. You could try a repair install, that sometimes works and will retain all your settings, programs and data. But, most likely, it's a reformat and reinstall (I assume, after you reinstall your old MOBO so you can back up the data that you didn't backup before this forray into the unknown).

__________________
AMD FX6300, ASUS M5A99X EVO R2.0, Samsung 840 Pro, Seagate 1 TB, Asus GTS450, Samsung N915 (two), PCP&C 1kw
billb is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > General Hardware
General Hardware Discuss your new build and gather upgrade suggestions. And if your question doesn't fit anywhere else...it goes here.
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?