• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Q6600 Can't load windows @ 2.7ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

echos

Registered
Well this is my first time overclocking maybe you guys can help me out, I am hitting a wall at 2.7ghz here, and I am pretty sure it is something to do with the RAM. Because I even set my Vcore way up to 1.5, and my FSB voltage to the max and it still wouldn't load windows. Then I relaxed my RAM timings a little bit and it did load, but as soon as I ran prime95 it crashed. I don't really understand how to tweak the RAM to make it stable, I am running it unlinked and I don't really understand the whole divider thing but I am pretty sure that we should not need a divider. Also the temperatures look fine, so it is not heat preventing it.

Right now I am at 2.65ghz [295 x 9] and prime95 runs on all 4 cores at the same time without crashing. I tried to enable the roundoff error checking like it shows in the sticky topic but that option is greyed out for me.

Here are my specs:
motherboard: XFX 680iLT

BIOS:
CPU Thermal Control Disabled
C1E Enhanced Halt State Disabled
Intel Speedstep Disabled
All Spread Spectrum settings are Disabled

RAM:
G.Skill F2-8000CL5D-4GBPQ
DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000)
4GB(2x2GB)
5-5-5-15
2.0V - 2.1V
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231145

First :welcome: to the ocforums :)

Second, you can use memtest running in the bios to check memory independent of the cpu.

Third, what is the cpu:ram ratio (I think that is what you are calling the divider)? Unless a stick is defective or you have something set wrong, the ram shouldn't be a problem. From your first post, it does sound like it could be one of these.

Fourth, what are you using to check temps and what specifically are your temps?