Notices

Overclockers Forums > Software > Programming Tips and Tricks
Programming Tips and Tricks
Forum Jump

Awesome new CPU stress utility needs feedback!

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-12-08, 10:49 AM   #41
asusradeon
Member

 
asusradeon's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 127.0.0.1

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by g0dM@n View Post
Well what if he wants credit for it?? someone else may take it and create their own OFFICIAL burn-in prog, no?
Well this is the same for ALL open source software, people could use the code and take credit for it...

__________________
Intel C2D T6400 2.0Ghz -- Dell Studio 1555 -- 4048MB -- Windows 7 Pro
AMD Athlon X2 4200+ -- Asus V3-M2V890 -- 2GB Kingston -- Windows 7 Pro
Intel C2D T5870 2.0GHZ -- Vostro 1510 -- 2048MB -- Windows XP SP2

ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI !


asusradeon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-08, 08:41 PM   #42
ShadowPho
Member

 
ShadowPho's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: I am in your stack, SUBbing your registers!

 
Seeing as nobody's PC exploded, I tried it out.
Shot up straight to 80C, then my fans engaged at full. First time I ever heard the sound of fans over my music in my new PC .
Good job OP!

__________________
"Take only that which you can give"
Need Help? IM me! I want to help the OC community!

MainComputer:
E6400@2.69-4.0 gig RAM-8800GT
ASUS P5N-E SLI

ShadowPho is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-12-08, 11:54 PM Thread Starter   #43
Nanerbeet
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Utah

 
If you suspect the crash is not related to overclock, run it at stock speed, stock voltage just to verify.

If the processor overheats, it will hang or reboot. If the processor fails a calculation (such as memory address or branch mis-prediction), it will crash. Not exactly "built-in" error checking; its just that the elevated heat condition might help trigger a failure.
Nanerbeet is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-28-08, 06:16 PM   #44
esveezy
Registered

 
esveezy's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007

 
I can confirm that this gets my X3210 hotter than any other program I've tried - it is like TAT, only i works all 4 cores.
esveezy is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 02:46 AM   #45
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
Why don't someone try 2/4 old fasion P95 (red one) and orthors, both piority 10 and compare with this one? I'll post mine soon. All in all, you should get 3 different core temp readings.

Prime95- Core 1= Core 2
Orthors- Core 1= Core 2
Damage- Core 1= Core 2

I'll edit it afterwards if I remember.
Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 01:13 PM   #46
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
it's not doing anything for me, stock speeds and it's 23c, those are my idle temps! I get 31c load with orthos(yes those temsp are correct )

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 01:14 PM   #47
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drinkyoghurt View Post
it's not doing anything for me, stock speeds and it's 23c, those are my idle temps! I get 31c load with orthos(yes those temsp are correct )
Did you....you know...run it?

Haven't seen an issue on any of my computers.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 01:18 PM   #48
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
yes...I .... did

well, atleast it said "running for xx:xx amount of time"

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 01:20 PM   #49
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drinkyoghurt View Post
yes...I .... did

well, atleast it said "running for xx:xx amount of time"
Why....are....we....talking....like....this?

Did you check the menus just in case it didn't actually start? Like set it to two cores and back to 4, etc.

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 03:51 PM   #50
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
it works now, but it's only 1c hotter then orthos @ stock speeds. I haven't tried OC'd yet

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 04:11 PM   #51
thideras
Destroyer of Empires and User Accounts, El Huginator
Premium Member #3

 
thideras's Avatar 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: South Dakota

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drinkyoghurt View Post
it works now, but it's only 1c hotter then orthos @ stock speeds. I haven't tried OC'd yet
Something isn't right, you sure you its at 100% load?

__________________
Desktop: Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H | 3570k | 32 GB | GTX 770 Classified | 1 TB Samsung Evo & 2 TB HDD | Windows 3.1 | 4x 2560x1400 Monitors
VM Server 1: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM | 8x 300 GB Savvio | IBM M1015 | 34 TB Raw disk | XenServer
VM Server 2: Dell R710 | 2x L5630 | 96 GB RAM |
8x 300 GB Savvio | XenServer
Router: Coming soon
"That's not overkill, or a lot. That's just thiderastic." -txus.palacios
"Clouds are silent, cold, and wet. Servers are none of these things." -Bobnova

Current project: Rackmount Overkill (New) | Little Overkill (New)
Articles: Rack Mounting 101 | Dell Perc 5/i Throughput Benchmarks
My Website


Want to talk directly to all the moderators at once? Call the Mod Hotline!
thideras is offline Author Profile Benching Profile Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 04:33 PM   #52
Drinkyoghurt
Member

 
Drinkyoghurt's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Eindhoven, The Netherlands

 
yeah, but this is only @ stock, it gives a 1-2c difference, not more..don't know about oc'd though, should be a bit more delta t in there

edit: finally a delta t of 4-5 c

__________________

CPU:
Intel i5-2500k 4.7ghz 1.34V - M0b0:Asrock P67 Pro3 Rev. B3 - Ram:Corsair XMS3 1600mhz 7-8-7-21 1.63V - Cooler: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme - Videocard:Sparkle GTX 260 216 core 55nm -
14459 marks in 3Dmark06
Reboot: "Don't argue with idiots. They bring you to their level and beat you with experience."
rdrash:"I think Todd changes hardware more frequently then he changes his underpants."
Join the benching team and be part of the elite
Drinkyoghurt is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 02-29-08, 05:45 PM   #53
Blazing fire
Member



Join Date: Sep 2007

 
lol....what...a...weird...way...of...talking.
Blazing fire is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-08, 11:33 AM   #54
Hazaro
Member

 
Hazaro's Avatar 

Join Date: Apr 2007

 
Bump for this beast.

__________________
2500K @4.2GHz, P8P67 PRO, 8GB G.Skill Sniper, RocketFish Case, 2x 6950, X750 PSU, TRUE120

Hazaro is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-17-08, 04:56 PM   #55
RJARRRPCGP
Member



Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA (Springfield, Vermont)

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by thideras View Post
Same here, it just closed or it hit an issue. Seems like it has built in error checking.
Probably no error checking if it disappeared.

__________________
Asus Maximus II Gene- Core 2 Quad Q6600 SLACR @ 3.3 Ghz (367x9.0)

Where I come from "Z97" is a radio station
-ICH10R
- eVGA GeForce GT 640-Antec VP-450


" holy cow!! you find a rat in there too!?!?!? " -turbohans
"Reinstall winders." -jivetrky
"I think I am going to need another coke before I start this up." -cadman420
"Soon Windows will be 50 gb! lololol" -Tokae
"NOT FOR SALE IN CALIFORNIA."
RJARRRPCGP is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 03-18-08, 07:13 AM   #56
Nebulous
Seņor Senior Member

 
Nebulous's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: The Empire State

10 Year Badge
 
I used to use Toast back in the skt A days, lol. Dam this is an old proggy. Used to put some serious hurting on those Bartons.

__________________

<MEGA-O>
Gigabyte Z77X-UD4H /De-Lid i5 3570K@ 4.5Ghz
16GB GSKILL Sniper F3-17000CL11D-8GBSR
XSPC Rasa Black / RX360 / MCP-655 / MCRes
Corsair Force 3 SSD 120GB x2 Raid~0 / WD VelociRaptor 300GB
Diamond 7870PE52GDD Ghz Edition HD 7870+H80
Sony AD-7220S / Lite On LH-16A1S
SilverStone Zeus ZM1350 1350w
CM Cosmos 1000 / Win8.1 x64
** Under TITLE II, SECTION 210.340 it is legal to overclock **
Nebulous is online now Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 08:44 AM   #57
Calmatory
Registered



Join Date: May 2008

 
First of all, sorry for a bump. :P

Prime95/Orthos are far from best CPU burning programs. For example while I get 70 C from Orthos, I get well over 80 C from S&M. FPU unit heats the A64's well.

Had to register here, just to post this!
Calmatory is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 05-08-08, 08:26 PM   #58
Diddyu
Member

 
Diddyu's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2007

 
Ive been using this for a while to compare temps and to burn in TIM, but i didnt know who made it. Not that good for stability checking, but does a fine job at cooking the chip.

__________________
Mobo: XFX 680i LT
CPU: Intel Q6600 G0 @ 3.8 ghz
Cooling: Apogee GT + MCW60
RAM: OCZ SLI Ready 6400 @ 1000mhz 2 x 1gb
Vid: 2x EVGA 8800GTS 512 (g92) @ 812/1035/2020
Case: NZXT Lexa Black
PSU: Ultra Xfinity 600W
3dMark06:18356 marks
Diddyu is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-09, 12:52 AM   #59
zzzzzzzzzz
Member



Join Date: Apr 2009

 
I preferred Core Damage when it did not require running an installer to install the program.

Please have a version that does not require the use of the installer.
zzzzzzzzzz is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 04-17-09, 01:02 AM   #60
ziptieboy
Member



Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Kansas

 
Holy thread resurrection, Batman!
ziptieboy is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Software > Programming Tips and Tricks
Programming Tips and Tricks
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?