Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

newbie question

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-20-02, 02:01 PM Thread Starter   #1
mcoon
New Member

 
mcoon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
Question newbie question


I have a AMD Duron 1Gig on a K7AMA motherboard with an ALIM1645 chipset. I have read the manual and read the beginners guides on this site. I couldnt find any thing in Bios for setting the FSB and it wouldnt alow me to change the CPU speed or set that option to manual. Maybe in just stupid :-P
Any suggestions ?
mcoon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Overclockers Approved
Which motherboard should you buy? Get the final word here. Check out the latest Overclockers reviews:
ASRock Z77 OC Formula Motherboard Review

ASRock teamed up with overclocker Nick Shih to make a high-end overclocking-based, yet functional for all users, motherboard named the Z77 OC Formula. It appears they have achieved it. Read More.

Get it at NewEgg for $239.99
ASUS Maximus V Formula Motherboard

The Maximus V Formula is part of the ROG (Republic of Gamers) series of motherboards, which in itself brings a high level of expectation. It's a no brainer, Overclockers Approved! Read more.

Get it at NewEgg for $279.99
Old 01-24-02, 12:31 PM Thread Starter   #2
mcoon
New Member

 
mcoon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
OK I guess what im asking is...


Does anyone know of a good online tutorial or beginners guide other that those on the overclockers.com website. Preferable one that is more specific to the type of motherboard and proccessor that I am using (see above) ?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
mcoon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-26-02, 11:17 AM   #3
inkleoneaters
Registered



Join Date: Jan 2002

 
i dont know ur motherboard but will respond regardless and try to help. some motherboards call fsb "cpu bus", if that helps, also on the motherboard there may be some clock multiplier settings and some bus speed settings along with some memory voltage settings, so check ur manual and fiddle with the dip switches, make sure ur temps are low, use small increments, be careful.
inkleoneaters is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-27-02, 09:23 AM   #4
LutaWicasa

Immutable
Administrator

 
LutaWicasa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago

10 Year Badge
 
First, welcome to OC.com

OK. That is an ECS board and they aren't known for the most oc freindly mobos. They tend to be stable and fairly quick but lacking in features we all tend to love
It would be helpful to know specifically which board you have though. There are 3 versions of the K7AMA at the ECS site.
You may have the ability to oc somewhat using settings found in CPU PnP Set-up in bios.

__________________
Abjure obfuscation
LutaWicasa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-29-02, 06:49 PM Thread Starter   #5
mcoon
New Member

 
mcoon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
Cool Would this help ?


This is the most that I know to tell you about my mobo....

Motherboard Features
Ali® Magic 1645 & Magic 1535D+ Chipset
Sockets A for AMD® Athlon/Duron (K7) processors
Two 184-pin DDR DIMMs and two 168-pin DIMMs with DDR DRAMor SDRAM support, support, up to 2GB
RealTek 8139C LAN Chip on board
AC97 Audio Codec on board

PROCESSORS Detail
AMD® Athlon/Duron (K7) processors
Full series of Athlon/Duron CPU including the future Athlon processors
K7AMA mainboard has a Socket-462 processor socket for an AMD K7 type CPUs. You can install any one of these processors on the mainboard. The mainboard supports Socket-462 processor front-side bus speeds of 200MHz or 266MHz.

CHIPSET
Ali® Magic 1645(NB) & Magic 1535D+(SB) Chipset
Support AGP 2.0 specification (4X)
Support PCI 2.2 Specification

LPC I/O - IT8870F
SAN: RealTek 8139C
AC97 Audio Codec Compliant with AC97 2.1 specification

MEMORY
2 DDR DIMM Sockets and 2 DIMM sockets support (can not be used simultaneously)
Two 184-pin 2.5V DDR SDRAM (DDR266/DDR200) or
Two 168-pin 3.3V SDRAM (PC133/PC100)
Maximum: 2GB

SYSTEM BIOS
AMI 2MB Flash EEPROM
Supports Plug and Play 1.0A, AMP 1.2, Multi Boot, DMI
Support for ACPI revision 1.0 specification

I/O INTERFACE
Supports Plug and Play function
PS/2 keyboard and PS/2 mouse connectors
Two USB Ports
One - EPP/ECP mode parallel port
Two - 16550 high-speed serial I/O port
Audio Ports (Line-in, Line-out, Mic-in, CD-in and game port)

LAN Header
Supports 360K~2.88M Byte, 3 Mode FDDs
Dual PCI IDE interfaces - support four IDE devices (PIO mode 4, DMA Mode 2, Ultra DMA 33/66/100)
ATX Power Supply Connector
Ports, Headers and Others: IrDA Cable header, Two Extra USB Headers Onboard
Front Panel MIC/Line-Out header, Green, HDD, Power indicator LED headers
CPU and Case Fan headers
LAN Card Wake Up / Internal Modem Ring Wake-Up headers

RTC & BATTERY
M1535D+ included 256 bytes of CMOS
With CMOS hardware clear jumper

EXPANSION SLOTS
4 PCI slots, 1 AGP slot, 1 AMR slot

FORM FACTOR
ATX (304mm*220mm)
mcoon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 11:57 AM   #6
LutaWicasa

Immutable
Administrator

 
LutaWicasa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago

10 Year Badge
 
If you look here you will see where to identify which version of the board you have.
Let us know and we'll try to help

__________________
Abjure obfuscation
LutaWicasa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 03:57 PM Thread Starter   #7
mcoon
New Member

 
mcoon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
OK. I have seen that before on the ECS site and I never found any kind of stamp like that. I looked again today (found a flashlight) and still cant find it. Looks like it should be in between the two pci slots closest to the agp slot. The only thing I saw way a stamp that said K7AMA but it was on the other side of the agp slot. From what I've seen there is supposed to be at least something there. Do you think some one screwed up at the ol mainboard factory ?

Last edited by mcoon; 01-30-02 at 04:04 PM.
mcoon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 04:20 PM   #8
LutaWicasa

Immutable
Administrator

 
LutaWicasa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago

10 Year Badge
 
Quote:
Originally posted by mcoon
OK. I have seen that before on the ECS site and I never found any kind of stamp like that. I looked again today (found a flashlight) and still cant find it. Looks like it should be in between the two pci slots closest to the agp slot. The only thing I saw way a stamp that said K7AMA but it was on the other side of the agp slot. From what I've seen there is supposed to be at least something there. Do you think some one screwed up at the ol mainboard factory ?
They move'em around for some reason
No ver # with it though??

__________________
Abjure obfuscation
LutaWicasa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 04:24 PM Thread Starter   #9
mcoon
New Member

 
mcoon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
Cant find it anywhere. Could it be on the back ?
mcoon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 04:51 PM   #10
LutaWicasa

Immutable
Administrator

 
LutaWicasa's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Chicago

10 Year Badge
 
Wouldn't think so. What about any stickers anywhere(underside of pci slots, ps/2 connectors etc.)?

__________________
Abjure obfuscation
LutaWicasa is offline Heatware Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 06:55 PM Thread Starter   #11
mcoon
New Member

 
mcoon's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2002

 
I did a very good check and I didnt find any stickers or any stamps with a version number on it. I doubt this helps but all I found was a very small sticker that just said "0" and on the AMIBIOS chip I found a sticker that said 104. It is either really small or it is on the bottom and I cant see it without taking every thing completely out. I really dont want to have to do this.
Also, I found this on the back of my user guide:
P/N:40-012-592111
Version: 1.1
Thats probaly had nothing to do with the board its self but Im not sure. I might try contacting tech support on the ecs website.

Last edited by mcoon; 01-30-02 at 07:09 PM.
mcoon is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 01-30-02, 08:20 PM   #12
Caffinehog
Übercaffinated Member

 
Caffinehog's Avatar 

Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: In the lab

 
I've had a couple ECS boards that don't support changing the FSB. Might've had that one... can't remember. Not all boards will let you overclock at all. Gotta check the reviews first. Give that manual another look, and check everything in the bios. Good luck.
Caffinehog is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-06-02, 05:23 PM   #13
Chiefkdm
New Member

 
Chiefkdm's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Memphis, TN

 
I have that board and the only way you can change the fsb at all is by means of jumpers. Mine doesn't have a revision number on it either.
Chiefkdm is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-08-02, 02:57 PM   #14
Wraith
Member

 
Wraith's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Fussa Japan

 
oh ya,
WELCOME TO THE FORUMS!

__________________
Athlon 2000+ @ 1.9 147/147
ECS K7S5A
256 MB TwinMOS DDR PC2100
ATI Radeon 9000 128 MB (Saphire)
40 Gig Western Digital
Atapi CDRW
Atapi DVD ROM 16x
Stock HS and Fan
Watercooled- Maze 3 Lucite,Dtek 200GPH Pump/Res, Black Ice Micro

"So, please, flush any 100% across-the-board crap out of your heads and let's look at this anew.

You Were Wrong, Wrong, Wrong; The Radeon Rules!"
- Overclockers.com
Wraith is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Motherboards > AMD Motherboards
AMD Motherboards
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?