• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

UPS for Modem and Router

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

neonblingbling

My internet keeps dropping out, and I think it may be due to unclean power. Therefore I was looking at this UPS simply because it's $30. I figure a low-powered UPS would be fine for a modem and router, right? But, is 'Cyberpower' a decent brand? Bestbuy reviews don't like them as much as APC, but I don't think I should rely on those reviews too much...

Also, will this be a simple plug-n-play deal, or do I have to connect it to a PC to set things up? I've never used a UPS before.

A fairly light load, any UPS should do, however, it sounds like you need a power
conditioner. A UPS generally won't clean up noisy power, as the unit is in standby
so long as AC is available.

By unclean I meant I occasionally get brown outs, thus making my internet drop out (which is a pain while playing games). I thought a UPS would help out in a situation like this?

A fairly light load, any UPS should do, however, it sounds like you need a power
conditioner. A UPS generally won't clean up noisy power, as the unit is in standby
so long as AC is available.

Depends on the UPS. Most newer/quality UPS's will switch to battery if it sees a drop in power. That is sort of the point of them. However, I do recognize he said "unclean" instead of "brown out" initially.

By unclean I meant I occasionally get brown outs, thus making my internet drop out (which is a pain while playing games). I thought a UPS would help out in a situation like this?