Notices

Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Silver kill coil

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe Search this Thread
 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-07-09, 02:47 PM Thread Starter   #1
iceage
Member

 
iceage's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
Silver kill coil


Anyone know a good place to get some 0.999 silver wire or coil to drop in my res? I know Petra's has a kill coil but the shipping is $8.50. Kinda steep for a small vial.
iceage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:43 PM   #2
jcw122

 
jcw122's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: USA

 
What is a kill coil? lol

__________________
"YES! I AM INVINCIBLE!!!"
Folding for Team 32!
Gaming Nick: new_Faction64 or CharminULTRA
CPU-AMD Athlon 64 3000+ 2.0Ghz@2.2Ghz (was 2.4) Socket 754, VENICE
Memory-Crucial Ballistix 2x512MB @ 220mhz 2.5-2-2-5
Motherboard-No Idea My DFI Died
Video Card-MSI ATI 9800XT---412/390(was 424/395)---w00t! Flashed
PSU-Forton Blue Storm 500w

Currently Air Cooled w/ Scythe Ninja and AC VGA Silencer
R.I.P. Project: Humidity
Heatware
jcw122 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:46 PM   #3
Flurp
Member

 
Flurp's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington

 
Try local jewelry shops... you don't necessarily need wire just ask them what they got...
Flurp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:47 PM   #4
ricflairw000
Member

 
ricflairw000's Avatar 

Join Date: Aug 2009

 
sorry i just know of petras

__________________
My project is done
http://www.ocforums.com/showpost.php...3&postcount=47

CPU:Core2Quadq6600@1.3 volts @ 3.2 GHZ
GPU:GTX275 stock 9kmarks now@ 16K marks 3D06
Ram:4GB(2x4GB)400mhzDDR2 M>
PSU: Decathlon 850
Mobo:ASUS P5N-D---LCD:W2753V---Case: TJ07
ricflairw000 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:49 PM   #5
BenF
Member

 
BenF's Avatar 

Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hell, Michigan

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcw122 View Post
What is a kill coil? lol
I believe it is used to kill microorganism that live in the water cooling loop.

__________________
Desktop:
-Gigabyte z68x-ud3h-b3 - 2500k @4.5 - XFX 7970 @ 1125/1575 - 8Gb ddr3 1333 - 3x samsung spinpoint f1 1tb - intel g2 ssd-
Laptops:
Fujitsu Lifebook T Series
-M540 - 4gb ram - 300gb hdd
Lenovo T61 (out of commission)
-t7300-Nvidia nvs130-2gb ram-100gb hdd-14" widescreen
"Education is an admirable thing, but it is well to remember from time to time that nothing that is worth knowing can be taught." -Oscar Wilde
BenF is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:50 PM   #6
jr1
Member



Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: norway

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flurp View Post
Try local jewelry shops... you don't necessarily need wire just ask them what they got...
+1

__________________
Mobo : M4A88TD-V EVO/USB3
Cpu : amd p2 X6 1100T @ 3.827 ghz
Ram : ocz platinum 7 7 7 20 ddr 3 4gb
Vga : asus 2X asus GTX 560 directcu2
Psu : ocz fatality 700w
Cpublock : Swiftech apogee xt
Pump : mcp655
Rad : Sr1 480
Res : swiftech microres v1
Fittings : various kompression and barbs
tubing : primoflex pro white
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=64622
jr1 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 03:52 PM   #7
Boulard83

 
Boulard83's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Quebec - Canada

 
+1, Pure Sylver kill Vampire and Bacteria

Jewelry shop or Petra's tech shop. Lots of Web WC part seller have kill coil.

__________________
Boulard83 @ OvercloQc.com
BTTB
Gigabyte Z87X-OC WCed 4770k 2x8gb Ballistix 1600mhz cas8 Zotac GTX 780 Asus Xonar Pheobus
OS Toshiba Q 256gb Games 2x Agility 4 256gb Raid0 Corsair HX850 Tecnofront HWD BenchTable Asus VE278Q 5760x1080

HTPC Gigabyte H77m-D3H G2020 NT-06 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz Asus GTX 650 TI SB Recon3D
X25-m 80gb Enermax 550w Lian Li PC-C60B

Server Asus Z77m PRO 2500K NH-C12P 4x4gb G.Skill Ares 1600mhz
Agility 4 128gb Corsair CX430M 2X 1TB Black 1x 2TB green

KatPat Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 FX-8320 PH-TC14CS 2x4gb Patriot Viper 1600mhz GTS 450 + Accelero L2 Plus
Samsung Evo 120gb Corsair HX750 Bitfenix Survivor White Asus VE247H
Boulard83 is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 05:56 PM   #8
Conumdrum
Wants Old Title Back
Didn't Get It

 
Conumdrum's Avatar 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Las Vegas

 
Did you make sure you selected the USPS for shipping? I thought it was like $3? Regular mail, not UPS or Fedx

__________________
I want my old title back.
Old beast is torn down.
Will update later.

900 watt (1500VA) UPS
27" ASUS VG 3D/Nvidia V2 3D glasses and 24" Acer H243H
Conumdrum is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 06:25 PM   #9
Spawn-Inc

 
Spawn-Inc's Avatar 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada

 
also check out jabtech for some silver strips.

http://www.jab-tech.com/Antimicrobia...p-pr-4530.html

__________________
CPU: Q6600 G0 3.5GHz@1.4v (4.2GHz max) / 4790k 4.8ghz @1.265v
GPU: 9800GTX /GTX780 hydrocopper
Ram: Samsung 4GB /gskill 16gb DDR3 1600
Mobo: EVGA-NF68-A1 680i (P32) /AsRock Extreme6
PSU: Enermax Galaxy 850Watt /EVGA 850 G2
HDD: OCZ 120GB Vertex4, Samsung evo 840 250GB
LCD: Samsung 32" LN32A450, Samsung 226BW 22" wide
Sound: Logtiech Z 5500
CPU & GPU: 3x Swiftech MCR320, 2x MCP655, MCW60 R2, Dtek Fuzion V2, 18 high speed yates @ 5v
Spawn-Inc is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-07-09, 09:35 PM   #10
Flurp
Member

 
Flurp's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington

 
Not sure if OP is still reading this... but anyone who isn't full aware of the "kill coil" while it is great stuff (keeps the s*** from growin in your loop) I'd recommend people to get it from a local jewelry shop as you'll probably find it cheaper, no shipping costs(which shouldn't be alot) and you can always get extra but this is just a personal choice
Flurp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-09, 07:35 PM Thread Starter   #11
iceage
Member

 
iceage's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
I found a jewelry retailer who would sell 1oz lots of 0.9999 silver. I'll have to shape the bar into something appropriate for the res, and surface area does suffer a bit. But it'll work fairly well and I could always fish it out and sell it back for silver spot price if I move away from WC.
iceage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-09-09, 07:46 PM   #12
Flurp
Member

 
Flurp's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington

 
you could always use some tools and make it more like a heatsink fin form factor... but was the 1oz cheaper than same amount from a site?
Flurp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-10-09, 10:37 AM Thread Starter   #13
iceage
Member

 
iceage's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flurp View Post
you could always use some tools and make it more like a heatsink fin form factor... but was the 1oz cheaper than same amount from a site?
Without showing my math - the short answer is not quite even when you factor in shipping, but factoring in the retained value of the 1oz I think its a better deal.

Ok, I'll show my math:

1oz = 28.35 grams.

Petra's kill coil = $8 for 1.3 grams (plus shipping = $8 if you bought it alone)

Jeweler = $18.80 for 28.35 grams (no shipping, but I did have to drive there )

Of course, the 1oz is supreme overkill for about the same surface area (not going to show the math) , but the resale value is much higher.

Buying your own silver strip would be a better price/surface area solution, but I couldn't find someone locally to sell anything but sterling silver strip. Bleh.

Oh, and I'm thinking I'll have to bend it into a cylinder to get it into the res. But I have the tools to do that.
iceage is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 05:30 AM   #14
Flurp
Member

 
Flurp's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by iceage View Post
Without showing my math - the short answer is not quite even when you factor in shipping, but factoring in the retained value of the 1oz I think its a better deal.

Ok, I'll show my math:

1oz = 28.35 grams.

Petra's kill coil = $8 for 1.3 grams (plus shipping = $8 if you bought it alone)

Jeweler = $18.80 for 28.35 grams (no shipping, but I did have to drive there )

Of course, the 1oz is supreme overkill for about the same surface area (not going to show the math) , but the resale value is much higher.

Buying your own silver strip would be a better price/surface area solution, but I couldn't find someone locally to sell anything but sterling silver strip. Bleh.

Oh, and I'm thinking I'll have to bend it into a cylinder to get it into the res. But I have the tools to do that.
Note I said "for the same *amount* from the site... that being said 1oz is like 20 kill coils... also while you can get a block of silver you can get wire and such aswell... but either way you can always reshape to suit your needs
Flurp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 06:46 AM   #15
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulard83 View Post
+1, Pure Sylver kill Vampire and Bacteria

Jewelry shop or Petra's tech shop. Lots of Web WC part seller have kill coil.
If you have a vampire in your loop, I think you have bigger problems than bacteria.

I am just starting to piece together a loop. How would a piece of silver stack up to some PT Nuke? I have seen PTN recommended a lot around here, but have seen silver mentioned a lot in other places.
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 06:51 AM   #16
Flurp
Member

 
Flurp's Avatar 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Washington

 
Mostly personal preference I think... but Silver kicks some PT Nuke dairy aire to keep it g-rated

all depends though... it's harder to put silver in some loops, some people just find it easier to give your loops some drops and not worry about silver going in your pump/rad/blocks or blocking flow etc...
Flurp is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 07:31 AM   #17
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flurp View Post
Mostly personal preference I think... but Silver kicks some PT Nuke dairy aire to keep it g-rated

all depends though... it's harder to put silver in some loops, some people just find it easier to give your loops some drops and not worry about silver going in your pump/rad/blocks or blocking flow etc...
Going off what I have read, just from clicking a couple results on Google, it looks like the best way to use the coils is to put them in your tubing. I am planning to do 7/16" lines on 1/2" barbs. I am also planning on doing a t-line, due to the limited space in my Antec 900. How many coils would I need for a CPU only loop? Some of the pics I noticed in a thread at a forum showed a coil in each line. Would I really need that much if I decide to use silver, or is that overkill. I don't mean to threadjack, but thought this thread was relevant to my questions.
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 07:33 AM   #18
Daddyjaxx
Member

 
Daddyjaxx's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ormond Beach, FL.

 
You only need one in a tube or the res. Just make sure it is large enough to not get sucked into the loop.

__________________
In progress...I7-4960X
Rampage IV BE with EK m/b block
3 x 780TI Classifieds with EK full cover blocks
64GB Corsair Platinum 2400 CAS10
CaseLabs STH10 with Pedestal
4 x XSPC RX480 v3 , RX360, and RX240...maybe an EX120
EK res w/ 2 x MCP35X
Photon 170 Res with MCP35X
Primochill LRT Black/Red 7/8" with EK/BP compression
2 x 1TB Samsung 840, W/D 4GB Black and 3GB Black
Win 7 Pro
Daddyjaxx is offline   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 07:42 AM   #19
deadlysyn
Folding Team Content Editor
Who Dolk'd my stars Senior Member

 
deadlysyn's Avatar 

Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stealing your megahurtz at night

 
Thanks for the info. One more question though. Does the placement of the coil matter? Or is it ok as long as it is somewhere in the system. I am completely new to WC, and don't even have my parts yet (CPU block is on it's way though), and just want to make sure I have everything covered before I start putting it together.
deadlysyn is offline Author Profile   QUOTE Thanks
Old 10-18-09, 07:52 AM   #20
Daddyjaxx
Member

 
Daddyjaxx's Avatar 

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ormond Beach, FL.

 
I'd throw it in the res if you plan on having one and the filler hole is big enough to put it in. Some, like the Micro Res are kinda small holes.

__________________
In progress...I7-4960X
Rampage IV BE with EK m/b block
3 x 780TI Classifieds with EK full cover blocks
64GB Corsair Platinum 2400 CAS10
CaseLabs STH10 with Pedestal
4 x XSPC RX480 v3 , RX360, and RX240...maybe an EX120
EK res w/ 2 x MCP35X
Photon 170 Res with MCP35X
Primochill LRT Black/Red 7/8" with EK/BP compression
2 x 1TB Samsung 840, W/D 4GB Black and 3GB Black
Win 7 Pro
Daddyjaxx is offline   QUOTE Thanks

Post Reply New Thread Subscribe


Overclockers Forums > Hardware > Cooling > Water Cooling
Water Cooling Discussion devoted to blocks, pumps, radiators, reservoirs, tubing, and everything else to get you running smooth on a water loop
Forum Jump

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Mobile Skin
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
You can add these icons by updating your profile information to include your Heatware ID, Benching Profile ID or your Folding/SETI profile ID. Edit your profile!
X

Welcome to Overclockers.com

Create your username to jump into the discussion!

New members like you have made this the best community on the Internet since 1998!


(4 digit year)

Why Join Us?

  • Share experience
  • Max out your hardware
  • Best forum members anywhere
  • Customized forum experience

Already a member?