• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

How I got my i7 15 degrees cooler

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NV

Really, 15 degrees! I admit, I don't have screenshots which I know won't be good enough for some of you, but allow me to explain.

I'll start with... where I started from: I was using an unlapped TRUE with MX-2 TIM on my overclocked i7. I fold on my i7 which produces more heat than my benchmarking utility, systester (I run native linux and am currently ironing out issues with my windows partition, so none of the usual windows utilities could be used). Folding got my proc to around 80 degrees with an ambient of 21C. I have to admit, that reading should be taken with a grain of salt. My ambient temperatures aren't terribly stable and I also think folding sometimes produces different amounts of heat, as at the same ambient I could sometimes get something like 4C changes on my hottest core pretty quickly.

Anyway, the key thing to note is that my hottest core was usually right near 80. Pretty hot, I know.