• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P8H67-M Pro with 2600K CPU...I know....

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

matt_gold

Registered
Hello all.
first some backstory....
So, about 40 days ago I bought a new system. I have been saving for it for about 6 months, and I (for the first time) assembled it all myself. I am not experienced in this like you guys, so I'm pretty proud. Even did the thermal paste part pretty well, I think.

P8H67-M pro MB
16Gigs DDR3 Ram
EVGA GTX590 Classified
i7 2600k CPU

I thought I had researched a fair bit, but since then I have realized a few things. The H67 does not overclock, and the 2600k is great for overclocking. Damn.
The H67 has an onboard GPU but I have a friggin GTX590.
Double Damn.
The H67 does not support Nvidia SLI.
Triple Damn.

Now, I would LOVE to swap this motherboard which has been active in my system for over a month, for a P67....but i don't see how that can happen without trying to sell a slightly used H67 and buy a new P67.

I can live with all this....except one part. The H67 is slightly overclockable...if I use Auto Tuning, which I have to cause I'm an idiot when it comes to overclocking, it actually gives me a result I can live with. It does a stress test, reboots, and then tells me
"autotuning successful
3914Mhz 103.0x38 ^15%"

however, which i run testmycpu, it only get about 3500Mhz out of it.

So I am confused as hell. Is the autotune overclocking it or not? Is the 2600K actually a fast chip without overclocking, or did I actually just waste a bunch of money like a fool? Is it possible to overclock with the P8H67-M PRO, or not....cause I have actually been reading some threads that indicate that something can be done.

I apologize for the gigantic post...any help, suggestions, or criticism is welcome and appreciated.

-matt