• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Coolit ECI II 120

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tomdean

I am a newbie to OC.

I am building a system for number crunching and moderate graphics. Specs below. I plan to do some moderate OC and view this as a starter system.

I ordered a Coolit ECO II 120 from Puget Systems since they helped me with configuration but could not beat web pricing on the other components. Then I started looking. I can not find a vendor other than Puget Systems and other systems companies, that sells the Coolit ECO II 120.

Is the Coolit a reasonable starting point? Are they staying in business?

Do I need a cooler for the Intel X79 chipset?

Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
CPU Intel Core i7 3930K
Ram Kingston HyperX 16G DDR3-1866 <-- Need to go to 2400 for OC
Video Card Diamond Radeon HD 6870 1GB
Monitor ASUS VS228H-P LCD
Sound Card Onboard Sound
Hard Drive Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 6Gb/s
Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 6Gb/s
CD / DVD Asus 24x DVD-RW SATA (black)
Case Antec P183 V3 (4 FANS)
Power Supply Antec CP-850 850W Power Supply
Paste Artic Cooling MX-4 (may not need this)
CPU Cooling Coolit ECO II 120

FreeBSD/Windows 7/Linux

tomdean

That CPU may be a whole lot of overkill for your needs.

The 2600K is $200 cheaper, has 4 cores instead of 6, but could be heavily overclocked to fit your needs. You can definitely get the 3930K if you don't mind dropping $600 on it. But if you aren't going for all out gaming or something with enormous CPU stress, the 3930K may be overkill. Your choice. :)