• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Build - Nervous and Need Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n8dogg59

Registered
Hey everyone. I've been lurking around here for a long time and finally looking to pull the trigger to start buying parts for a build. Looking to get some deals around black Friday. This is my first build and I'm somewhat nervous about not getting the right components and screwing it up.

I'd like to keep it as close to $800 as possible. The primary use will be trading, using the internet, and streaming some videos. I don't play any games and don't need to overclock or have something the super robust. Just a couple questions/concerns - Is this a good wifi adapter? Is it ok to start with 8GB memory and then increase if I need too? Do I need any type of extra fan? Any recommendations for a case similar in quality to the Corsair 500r but less expensive?

If you could take a look below and just let me know if everything looks good or if there's any recommendations to replace certain components with others. Thanks in advance for the help. I really appreciate anyone that takes a look.

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/MDtRd6

CPU - Intel - Core i5-7500 3.4GHz Quad-Core Processor
Thermal Compound - Arctic Silver - 5 High-Density Polysynthetic Silver 3.5g Thermal Paste
Motherboard - MSI - B250 PC MATE ATX LGA1151 Motherboard
Memory - Crucial - Ballistix Sport LT 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR4-2400 Memory
Storage - Western Digital - Caviar Blue 1TB 3.5" 7200RPM Internal Hard Drive
Video Card - Gigabyte - GeForce GTX 1050 2GB G1 Gaming Video Card
Case - Corsair - 500R White ATX Mid Tower Case
Power Supply - Corsair - CSM 650W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply
Optical Drive - Asus - DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS DVD/CD Writer
Operating System - Microsoft - Windows 10 Home OEM 64-bit