• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

140 Rads vs 120 Rads

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bassnut

Premium Member
I am new to water cooling and have been planning a custom loop for a bit now but ran into a snag and decided on a case change to a Lian Li PC A71F. I can mount a 140.2 at the front and have plans to add a second up top. Most of the info I have found is for 120 rads. So before I drop a few $$$$ and order my parts I am just wondering should I use the stock 140 configeration or make an adapter and run some 120's instead up front, the top rad I have to make a mounting plate anyways so it really doesn't matter I can go either way. The 1 thing I have noticed is a lack of fans for the 140 rads. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Rad I paln on using .....
http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=59_457_458&products_id=25416

Fans I plan on using ....
http://www.performance-pcs.com/cata...oduct_info&cPath=36_316_848&products_id=26719

One thing I forgot to mention with the A71f case if you use 280 rad in front with 140 fans, you need to make some cheap brackets even with 140 fans, I cut 4 out of some cheap holed brackets at home depot, because the 280 rad has to be lowered 1-2 centimeters to be able to fit through the fan placement holes yet still clear bracket above. See picture. You could always drill 8 new holes and lower fans, but then the filter, etc woudlnt fit.

point is, you will need some type of adapter whichever way you go. If you do go that route, i would buy rad first, and make sure 120 to 140 adapters would fit case.

Attachments

• bracket.jpg
    bracket.jpg
    44.6 KB · Views: 263
Last edited: