• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best way to setup fans for cooling?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tombo12345

I recently built a screamer of a comp.

Specs:
Core i7 2600k (Not OCed yet)
16gb DDR3
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO Mobo

The thing is that I don't have the best cooling. I have a cooler master hyper 212 plus for the CPU, but that's IT. Right now, my temps are running around 52 degrees celsius pretty stable, but I'm worried those will shoot up once I start overclocking without the right cooling.

I have 2 questions. 1) The case I bought (5 years ago) is incredibly cheap, and didn't come with much ventiliation. Literally the only hole in the thing is where the CPU fan shoots out it's hot air. Now fortunately, the side of the case that you remove is made of clear plastic so you can see inside the case, therefore very easy to drill into. So I plan on drilling a ton of holes into the side of the case to get some airflow, and I would like to attach some fans to those holes. If I counted correctly, I have space on my mobo to power 2 more fans, so I would like to know the best way to accomplish adequate ventilation. Should I got for 2 huge fans? 2 little ones that spin fast? Are there adapters available to use my power supply to power more fans?