• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Pentium Northwood 1.6a ghz/512/400/1.5v

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

crxsi71

I want to build a machine around this old processor I dug up for fun and I want to overclock it to its limit can I get some help here on where to find the stuff to do it and how to do it. I'm a full on newb.

you'll need a Socket 478 compatible cooler, of course which one is up to you. Since this will be a 10yo, cheap overclock, i suggest you stay with fan/heat-sink.

The Northwood, like most Pentiums is a locked multiplier, which means the only real overclocking you can do with it is to bump the FSB up (the CPU voltage and Ram Voltage and speeds can be tinkered with to increase stability at the higher clock speeds). Don't quote me on this, because it's been about a decade, but i'm pretty sure you can take the FSB of one of those up from 100mhz to 143mhz (which will bring you into something like 2.3ghz range). Past that it gets a bit iffy, and will come down to the mb, ram, cooling and cpu; but i've heard about people getting one up to nearly 3ghz (I know for certain you should be able to, with some tweeking, get it up to 2.6ghz)

Of course when this was released i was busy overclocking athlon cpus, and only eyed one before going back to overclocking my athlons. So i'm not an authority on overclocking one of these.

Thanks I know its old but i think its a good cpu to try on since it won't mean anything to me if something goes wrong.

ASUS P4B-MX Socket 478 will this motherboard do for what I want to do?

ASUS P4B-MX Socket 478 will this motherboard do for what I want to do?

Asus P4C 800 Deluxe is apparently the best oc board for a socket 478... of course this is just knowledge found from google searching. as i said, i wasn't into celeron oc'ing back in the day.