• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Newbie RAID question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

thehunt78

Registered
Hey everyone I am pretty new to building my own PCs and I am still trying to understand some things. Right now I am building a HTPC/NAS combo. I am using the ASUS P8Z77-V LGA mobo in a large silverstone case. The mobo supports RAID 0,1,5,10. I eventualy want a SSD for the OS and four 3TB drives running RAID 5 or 10 for media. I am not wealthy so buying all four HDDs at once will be difficult.

1. My question is if I only have two drives to start with, and I run them in RAID 0 or no RAID at all, can I just add the other two drives when I can afford them and change the RAID setting to either 5 or 10. I mean if I did that would the computer just make the adjustments and spread the data out on all the drives without a problem or am I looking at a possible disaster buy not just starting with all the HDDs?

2. I also have a question about which SATA sockets to plug everything into. The board has 4 Intell SATA 3.0, 2 Intell SATA 6.0, and 2 Asmedia SATA 6.0. I will have 1 SSD, 4 HDD, and an optical drive. I'm thinking the 4 HDDs in the 4 Intell 3.0s, and the SSD and OD in the Intell 6.0 sockets. Is that best?

3. And my last question is where do I plug in more HDDs if I ever need to add a fifth or sixth HDD? Can I just plug them in the Asmedia sockets or will I need a RAID card?