• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

PFC in a home use PSU = useless

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NiHaoMike

dBa Member
http://nlcpr.com/Deceptions1.php
Since I'm an electrical engineer specializing in power electronics, I can definitely tell you that PFC adds cost (should be obvious why) and actually *decreases* efficiency! The second part might seem counterintuitive, but consider that PFC is just another stage of power conversion and that in the real world, no power converter is 100% efficient. The slight loss in efficiency is worth it for businesses who are billed by kVA, but home users will not get any benefit from it. (There are also cases where PFC can net an efficiency increase by allowing for a variable rail voltage, but a PC isn't one of them.)

My current machine actually uses a heavily modified server PSU, one of the mods was to bypass the PFC and replace it with a traditional voltage doubler. As expected, the efficiency increased by a few percent when I did that. More significantly, at light load (like only the Atom subsystem running), the total power usage decreased by 15W.

Yet every good PSU manufacturer seems to buy into the scam. Is it that the lack of PFC is associated with low quality, older PSUs? Is it that they want to only manufacture one model of PSU for both home and business users? Is it that most consumers who have no idea think PFC is a good thing? How come I haven't seen a PSU for sale that omits PFC for cost reduction yet is still great quality?

In europe, it's required by law.

Non-PFC units cost you less, but cost the power company considerably more. On the large scale they are significantly more efficient.