• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

New... can I overclock?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

midrange

Hey guys. Stumbled upon this site and figured I could hope for some help. I've never overclocked a cpu before. I have built a few, so I'm not a complete noob. The computer in question is my work computer. Its an HP elite 8100 series running an i7 870, 8Gb RAM, Windows 7 x64, Radeon HD5450 1Gb GPU.

Not sure how to attach, but I can supply DXDiag for more info if needed. I'm not looking to OC much. I'm running into major issues running PowerDirector 12 which 'states' it requires 3Ghz processing. I'm wondering if I can bump it up a bit within safe levels I'll have more success running this program.

Hey guys. Stumbled upon this site and figured I could hope for some help. I've never overclocked a cpu before. I have built a few, so I'm not a complete noob. The computer in question is my work computer. Its an HP elite 8100 series running an i7 870, 8Gb RAM, Windows 7 x64, Radeon HD5450 1Gb GPU.

Not sure how to attach, but I can supply DXDiag for more info if needed. I'm not looking to OC much. I'm running into major issues running PowerDirector 12 which 'states' it requires 3Ghz processing. I'm wondering if I can bump it up a bit within safe levels I'll have more success running this program.

Moar specs plz.

Like motherboard model if possible..

Check your BIOS of overclocking options, that's the best route.
But you are likely stuck like me, because we both bought pre-built PC's :( (I bought a Gateway DX-4850)

Its a canned (store bought) PC. I doubt the HP will have any bios options to overclock. but check for things like core voltage and bclk. If those options are not in there, you are SOL really.