• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

LED question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cyber mouse45

Cyber Cheesiest Senior
Hey, I’m getting ready to start planning where all the wires are going to go in my case, and I have a question. How do I hook a switch, LED and fan up? I want the led to come on when the fan is on, and go off when the fan is off. I’ve never done this before, so I don’t know what to do. Here’s a pic of the parts that I have. Do I need any more parts? I don’t have the switches yet, but I’ll be getting them soon.

Is it possible to have a green LED come on when the fan is on, and a red one when it’s off?
Thanks so much for your help! :D

With a SPDT (on-on) switch it is very easy to setup a red-green led. You can buy Bi colored Leds (leds that light up 2 colors) that have 3 leads, one for ground and the others for lighting the different colors. You will need some resistors to lower the voltage for the leds the resistor depends on the voltage and current rating of the led.

Last edited:
Iron Hawk said:
With a SPDT (on-on) switch it is very easy to setup a red-green led. You can buy Bi colored Leds (leds that light up 2 colors) that have 3 leads, one for ground and the others for lighting the different colors. You will need some resistors to lower the voltage for the leds the resistor depends on the voltage and current rating of the led.

Wow, I didn't know I could do that. I’ve never used one before in my life, so could you tell me what sort of resistor I would need for this LED? Thanks!!!! :)

ok, here are the stats for that LED

30mA max (lets say 25mA (.025A) so we are not burning this sucker at max)

2 VDC typical

v=i*r therefore r=v/i

r=(12-2)/.025

r=400

so somewhere around 400ohms

I would recomend 390ohms, but not less than 320