• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What would you do right now?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ross

Senior Intel-lectual
Wasn't sure if this was best suited for CPUs or Motherboards since it was a little of both....CPUs got it :)

I am fairly new to the game and I pieced together a half new/half used setup over the last month or so (Lian PC-7, Shuttle mobo, 633 Cel @ 997, 400W PS, etc.)

My best stable O/C before this weekend was 988. I cleaned up a few things, made a few memory changes and was able to run 997 solid (shows 999.xx MHz in PCMark...does that count?) So I decided that it was time to beat the schniz out of the 1.2 Cel (Tualatin) from my daily machine.

So, taking the Volcano 7 off of the "playing around" system ...screwdriver slips...BANG! Dammit. I continue taking it off with 2 screwdrivers this time (one to push down and one to pry off of the tab), swap in the 1.2, plug it in and no post. Swapped the 633 back in...nothing. Reset the BIOS...nothing.

So now I am fairly certain that one slip of the screwdriver and I am in the market for another mobo. Now the dilemma is, is it time to go to a P4 or stick with the Cels I have for a little longer? I was planning on going P4 by the end of the year, which is why I bought a cheap 370 mobo and settled for using my old 633 to begin (and learn) with, but I have to wonder how much cheaper P4s will be in 6-8 months and if it would be worth waiting. Looking at the current P3 prices, I am not so sure. Did they keep them artificially expensive to make the P4s look cheap or what? I mean, I see 2.0As (512K/400MHz) brand new online for $200 all day long and a freaking P3 1.4 512K Tually is $310?? What's that all about?