• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

1st timer to overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

edmond

Hi all and thanks in advance to all who offer me some help :santa2: as I stated in the title I am totally new to overclocking so please bare with me as I make a fool of myself in my quest to learn. Now what I am after, I have a home built machine myself and a friend who was little more knowledgable than I put it together, everything went well but I am now having some problems which I hope can be resolved through the medium of this forum :) first the specs :
AA8 DURAMAX MOTHERBOARD, SOCKET LGA 775 MB
CORSAIR TWIN 2X 1024GB DDR2 XMS
Intel Pentium 4 520 "LGA775 Prescott" 2.8GHz (800FSB)
ENERMAX COOLERGIANT 485W PSU
SAPPHIRE ATI RADEON X600 PRO 256MB PCI EXPRESS
LIAN LI PC SILENT ALUMINIUM CASE
1 160 GB SATA 8MBCACHE HD
2 60BGB EIDE HD

The problem...my pc constantly freezes for a minute or 2 at a time sometime it recovers othertimes it crashes totally. There are little red specks on the desktop screen also.The pc is not overclocked well not technically as it is running off the settings supplied by the guru program. I would like to overclock it and have been told the specs I have are ideal for overclocking, but as I know nothing about it I would be loathe to start fiddling without advice :eek: ok so thats me my first post on this forum....long winded I know but I hope to achieve at least stability with my pc if not a little more. as I said at the beggining thanks in advance to all those who offer thier advice :santa2:

Not to sound silly, but you might be better served by getting your pc fully operational without error before you venture into the realm of OCing. A PC should work properly at spec, if not, there is something wrong with it.

I agree, so any ideas on wht is wrong ?