• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

$2500 Gaming Build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jackkanehann

Hi,

Thanks in advance for looking at my post! I am building my first computer and have a lot of money to spare - my budget is capped at around $2600. I need all new parts, and a new 120hz or 144hz monitor for gaming. Primarily, I will use this computer to play CSGO and some other games, but I want it to be top of the line so it will last me for college and beyond. I got this build from a website called techbuyersguru.com and they had a $2500 gaming build very similar to this one. I have swapped the '512gb samsung ssd m.2 pcie' for the '1tb samsung ssd'; to sacrifice some extra memory for extra performance. Will this change make a noticeable difference in performance?

I have never used liquid cooling before, is there anything I should know before I install it? My friend who is helping me with the build has also never installed a liquid cooling for CPU, so am wondering if there is any difficulty here for a newbie.

Also, if someone can recommend a good 144hz monitor for gaming that would be a good value, that would be a great help as well. Also, I may swap out the case for something different - does this build require a 'Full Tower' case or can it fit in a 'Mid-Tower?'

Any advice and help here is greatly appreciated, I am extremely new to building computers and am open to any advice on this build.

Here is the build list I have so far:

CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K ($330.00)

Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-Gaming 6 ($170.00)

Video Card
Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Strix 8G ($450.00)

Memory
Corsair 2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4-3200 Black ($190.00)

Solid-State Drive
Samsung 950 Pro M.2 PCIe 512GB drive

Hard Drive
Toshiba P300 3TB ($95.00)

Case
Cooler Master MasterCase Pro 5 ($125.00)

Power Supply