• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

7.1 surround sound from ALC1200 on B550

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

MIAHALLEN

I feel like a total noob posting this...but here it goes:

I have a new build as follows:
  • ASRock B550M Pro4
  • Ryzen 9 3900X
  • 64GB G.Skill DDR4-3600
  • MSI RTX2060 (3000 series or RDNA2 in the next couple months)
  • Sabrient 2TB M.2 QLC
  • Windows 10 Pro x64
  • HP Reverb G2 in November (9MP VR)
  • LG PF1500 1080P LED projector

This question is about audio....so here are some details about that:
  • I have audio running from the RTX 2060 to the LG projector via HDMI
  • I have also tested with Displayport>>>HDMI cables fromt he RTX to projector...same results.
  • The PF1500 projector has toslink output which runs over to my AV reciever, which powers the surround sound.
  • At first, only stereo worked due to the EDID issues with Windows 10.
  • I have already installed a EDID Override to attempt to resolve the problem.
  • AC3 & DTS now work, but 6ch LPCM is still not working.

I could run this another way...and that is via analog output from the sound controller directly to my AV receiver....but this motherboard only has stereo L/R analog output. Which got me thinking....it seems to me all the hype/marketing about the capabilities of this motherboard's audio controller, relies completely on the digital audio section of the GPU....is that correct?

My question then, is this: