• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

A55 or A75 with 1866mhz support?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Lanlan

Registered
Hello, noob here. I'm looking to build a pc based around the A8-3870k. I know the GPU benefits from faster RAM, and if I did my research correctly, the A8 APUs only support up to 1866mhz RAM.
I'm trying to find a motherboard with guaranteed support for this RAM. The details page on almost all of them say they support it (on Newegg) but reading through the reviews, I see that a lot of people either only use 1600mhz RAM or their 1866mhz ram isn't recognized as 1866mhz. Anyone know of a board that will 100% support 1866mhz RAM?

Welcome to the forums

:welcome:

I'm looking to build a pc based around the A8-3870k. I know the GPU benefits from faster RAM, and if I did my research correctly, the A8 APUs only support up to 1866mhz RAM. = That appears to be correct.

I'm trying to find a motherboard with guaranteed support for this RAM. = Not sure what guaranteed support is to be interpreted to mean.

The details page on almost all of them say they support it (on Newegg) but reading through the reviews, I see that a lot of people either only use 1600mhz RAM = There is nothing that forces them to use DDR1866 ram.