• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Alphacool NexXxos XP Rev2 block with an Alpenföhn Atlas mounting?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Alcsi69

Hey guys!

I'm really new to this custom watercooling thingy, and I'd like to build a loop for my 775 OC rig.

I could buy an Alphacool NexXxos XP Rev2 block for a really good price. The only downside is that it hasn't got the original mounting accessories. Do you guys think I could mount it with the Alpenföhn Atlas's mounting kit?

Also what do you guys think about this block? Is it considered good, or meh? :)

Not even close to the same mounting, that hardware won't without some custom fab work.

Not even close to the same mounting, that hardware won't without some custom fab work.

I could buy a 775 mounting kit for it. Is it worth it for $35 with the mounting kit, or should I buy like a Phobya UC-1 Extreme for $55? Is there a difference in performance? :)

There's a lot that goes into performance besides just the block. Rad(s), fans, pump(s), other components in the loop, etc.

How much can you get the XP Rev2 for? You can get the XP3 Light for $62 brand new which mounts to 775 boards.
You could even get an Eisblock XPX for $73 brand new which also mounts to 775 boards.
Both of those are very good blocks with simple mounting hardware that is easy to use.

I could get the XP Rev2 for $25. A 775 mounting kit would be $10 for it. So it's $35 all in all. Or it isn't worth it this way?

I could get the XP Rev2 for $25. A 775 mounting kit would be $10 for it. So it's $35 all in all. Or it isn't worth it this way?

Oh, I thought you meant the mounting by itself is $35. For a total of $35, go for it, just make sure the block has never been used with any dyes and make sure to clean it thoroughly before use.

Allright, thank you.