• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AM5 RAM config

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jayjay23

Hi community,

I want to build an AM5 system with the upcoming Ryzen 7950X3D. When it comes to RAM, I would love to use the white Dominator DDR5 due to its looks but realized they are not available with EXPO. Given I am not an expert in overclocking, I was wondering whether this is a problem? I.e. should I rather go for a similarly specced kid with EXPO, e.g. the Trident Neo? Or can I somehow manually make up for the lack?
Beside that, do I understand correctly that I should rather go with 2 instead of 4 modules?

Last edited by a moderator:
It shouldn't be an issue, a lack of EXPO. Chances are the XMP profile works fine with AMD.

2 sticks is likely all you need as they commonly run 2x16GB each.

Most motherboards support both. If it won't find EXPO profile then will suggest XMP settings. If you worry about RAM compatibility then ASUS mobos are probably the best nowadays.
There is no brand that guarantees work with 4 memory modules, if they're not sold as a kit. G.Skill is even adding an info card saying that. The Trident Z5 Neo RGB 64GB DDR5-6000 CL30 kit is great, but it's 2 module-kit and I guess you want 4 modules for the RGB and it would look amazing on Dominators.

Thanks both!