• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD 8120 Build/ Idle Temp

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

NtheFace

Registered
Just finished my build and could some suggestions havent got to the overclocking phase yet, but could use some suggestions.

ASUS Crosshair V Formula MB
FX-8120 3.1mhz CPU
16gb AMD Performance 1600 ram
Ballistic Ram Cooler
EVGA GTX 570
CoolerMaster Silient Hybrid Gold 850w
Corsair H100 Water Cooler (used arctic silver 5)
Cooler Master HAF 932 Case
Crucial M4 64gb SSD (just for drivers and windows)

Im idling at 40c..that seems high for an idle temp, but i dunno im kinda new to the specifics of running a system, always just put em together and if they worked kudos..

Any suggestions on cooling or the next step i should look into woudl be much appreciated

I got a pic of my set up, kinda messy at the moment need to clean up the wires a bit.

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    477.4 KB · Views: 640
what are the temps under load, idle temps actually mean very little, amd is normally 62c max temps.
my 8120 idles at 14c but loaded temps run into the upper 50's

do you have a fan mounted to your case side blowing where your h100 block/pump is?
this airflow has been removed now that you have removed the airflow provided by the old air cooler and the vrm and mosfets get very hot.

+1 for mandrake4565.

Last edited:
Lol, I've CoreTemp adjusted to add another 20C to my temps as it just reports too darn low, unless I've a magic chip which runs below ambient temps.

Judging by the heat that pumps out the back of my case while gaming I judge its not though.

Yah i got a 240mm running at 660+ rpm on the side panel, thinking about switching it out for 4 120mm delta tornado fans. what do you use as cooler/heatsink to have your idle so low.