• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD phenom II X4 BE 965 + G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600MHz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kosay1991

Hi all.

I feel like a complete and total noob... I recently upgraded my RAM to the new ripjaws X series and am running them at DDR3 1600MHz and I just migrated the saved extreme profile as is (8-8-8-24 at tCL of 8). Now the only thing bottlenecking my system is my AMD phenom II X4 BE 965.

Now I had hopes of getting it to 4.5 GHz or a little bot more... but I've been hitting brick walls. My RAM will NOT take any FSB over 215. It will just give bad CMOS checksum. I am not that experienced with changing timings on the RAM.

I tried increasing the voltages everywhere and going up to 10-10-10-31 no avail... currently I'm only OCing my cores using the unlocked multipliers and barely getting 4.2GHz any higher for multipliers just crashes me on prime95. Any tips on the perfect combination of timings/speed for the RAM and CPU to get me in the right direction..?

If it helps my Mobo is a biostar TA870+ (its cheap, has all the nice functions but ghetto as hell BIOS... got used to it :p )

A list...surely not all in the world, but a list still.

[OFFICIAL] LINK >> Phenom II X4 9x5 OC Club

The thread linked above was begun in April of 2009. The spreadsheets are for 955BE and 965BE. The spreadsheet claims to be current thru July of 2012. One page thru 551 pages as viewed in my browser.

955BEs show a few more high clocked cpus than the 965BEs. Maybe more people had 955s.

If you look at the cooling, the top one is phase changed. Does not count for the average user.

If you look at the top few overclocks you will see the amount of ram is 2GB and 4GB.

If you look at the top few overclocks you will see ram speeds as low DDR3 1300.