• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD Ryzen 7 1800 verses Ryzen 7 1700

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Anubis63

Registered
I am upgrading my computer to a Ryzen CPU and wanted to know if the 7 1700 are not as good as the 1800 it's allot cheaper

I am upgrading my computer to a Ryzen CPU and wanted to know if the 7 1700 are not as good as the 1800 it's allot cheaper
Mine runs @3700mhz at practically stock voltage. Can't complain tbh. I'm using a crap cooler and haven't really tired pushing it much. The cooler still has quite a bit of headroom too.

What are you planning to use the system for?

I'm a computer tech. old school and I will be using it for heavy calculations but also a gaming system

I'm a computer tech. old school and I will be using it for heavy calculations but also a gaming system
Heh. I did a statistics project using my Ryzen. It chugged numbers well. Generated my own samples via C programming.

I have no complaints gaming wise. I'm at 1080p and it plays fine even while hosting twitch via OBS.

I shouldn't complain about the 1700 when it's so cheap I will be overclocking it thinking of getting a ASUS ROG Crosshair VI Hero AMD Ryzen AM4 DDR4 M.2 USB 3.1 ATX X370 Motherboard with AURA Sync RGB Lighting $244.00 Then I need the ddr4 ram too.

If you are overclocking on ambient cooling, the 1700 tends to deliver the most bang for the buck.

So my stats project had me generate 4 sample sets, of 10 million data points each, for an encryption keystream generator simulated in C. It took it like a champ.

what you will loose between an 1800X and a 1700 ...... maybe a couple hunderd MHZ. My 1700X is chugging along happily at 4GHZ.