• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

AMD x64 dual core 2.3Ghz 4400+ OC help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

mraka

Registered
Hello, im new at this, and id much appreciate any help.

I have:

MSI K9 Neo V3
AMD x64 dual core 2.3Ghz 4400+
2x 1GB DDR2 800 and 1x 1GB 667 (single channel) can i make it dual?
Nvidia GeForce 8500GT

Now when i try to overclock CPU in bios i put CPU FSB Frequency to 235 (in small steps) without touching anything else, CPU comes up from 2.300 to 2.691 Mhz.
I read other threads regarding this processor, and they stated there should be an increase in Vcore. When i go from auto-1.300V to 1.325 or 1.350V processor clock goes down to 1.777 or something. And if i dont touch anything but the FSB its working fine on 2.691 Mhz.

Thing that is happening when its clocked like this is that CPUID is showing that Multiplier is going form x5 to x 11.5 every second or two. So like 1170 to 2.691 all the time. It just doesnt seem normal to me. But maybe it is?

Also BIOS states CPU temp. is around 68-70C, while CPUID HW states 48-53C max (while running CPUHog). It that BIOS showing temp of CPUtin?

Also DRAM frequency is jumping from 215 to 384 Mhz every second or two. FSBRAM CPU/5 jumps to CPU/7 as DRAM freq jumps.

And the Bus Speed is changing from 315 to 334 Mhz independently from CPU core speed.

Core voltage also changing from 1.096 to 1.304V.

Are these fluctuacions normal, or something is wrong?

Thanks a lot in advance!

It seems like you are mostly on your way. You need to disable amd cool n' quiet, and put windows into high power mode. This should disable your CPU from clocking itself down.

Those temps are pretty high (assuming the bios is accurate) - what cooler do you have on it?