• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

another new to overclocking

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dman213

Registered
hi people i am new to overclocking got intrested cos my system is getting slightly outdated and i opened it up recently for cleaning dust and new RAM.

all the hardware is bought from www.overclockers.co.uk

CPU : AMD Athlon II X4 365
Motherboard : Gigabyte GA-MA78LMT-US2H
Memory : 2x2GB OCZ DDR3 1066
2x4GB Corsair DDR3 1066
Graphics : Radeon HD 4850

A lot of reading tells me this can be taken from 2.9ghz to 3.8ghz if properly tweaked at the right conditions.

I tried the Gigabyte Easytune6 Windows software though of course its very weak, however I used its recommended 240FSB into my BIOS without changing anything else... and quickly just to be the safe side i brought it down to 220 FSB which give me 3.19ghz.

im pretty sure my temps have from gone up from mid 30C's to 40C's idle and hitting early 50C's on full load

any advice or can anyone tell me where to go from here, i have all the programs people talk about on this board here are my CPU-Z pics and also 1 pic of speedfan on idle right now after playing mw3.

Attachments

• cpu-z1 cpu.jpg
    cpu-z1 cpu.jpg
    57.9 KB · Views: 258,733
  • cpu-z2 mainboard.jpg
    cpu-z2 mainboard.jpg
    49.9 KB · Views: 419
  • speedfan.jpg
    speedfan.jpg
    58.6 KB · Views: 401
  • cpu-z3 memory.jpg
    cpu-z3 memory.jpg
    41.6 KB · Views: 254,566
  • cpu-z4 spd1.jpg
    cpu-z4 spd1.jpg
    49.8 KB · Views: 256,292
  • cpu-z4 spd2.jpg
    cpu-z4 spd2.jpg
    51.2 KB · Views: 395
Check your hardware listing. You said you have an "Athlon II X4 365".