• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

At which point will my CPU "bottleneck" my GPU?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Xenharmonic

Hi guys, I'm a noob and I'm trying to upgrade my graphics card.
My PC is: http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?cc=au&lc=en&dlc=en&docname=c03000845

Which has the: AMD A8 3800 Processor
(I hear you can't really upgrade the processor with HP computers =( )

Now I orignally wanted to get an MSI 7850 power edition (and also upgrade my power supply)—but after asking on another hardware forum they told me that there would be no point as the "APU" would bottleneck the performance of the graphics card.
Is this true?
Someone suggested a 7750, but now im worried that the CPU will bottleneck it as well =/.
The standard MSI 7750 has a core clock of 830Mhz.
According to some the 7770 would be a good option. The normal version is 1GHZ, and the OC'd is 1.1GHZ

Guys im really sorry I had to post this here =( but I would really benefit from some advice about upgrading my graphics card.
Thanks so much guys, by posting in this thread, you've made a noob very happy :)

Last edited:
I thought the system in question was an OEM with proprietary motherboard and power supply. Followed your link and surely enough it is a ready-built HP system. Most OEM systems are not generally very upgradeable. Well mostly only with what the system builder recommends.

Your system shows that it came with an add-in video card the Nvidia GT 520 and the way HP has it setup you cannot then use the onboard video at all. This would seem to defeat the purpose of having a Cpu that is an APU with cpu and video inside the same component.