• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon 64 Stability - Help =(

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Teger

Registered
Hello - New to the forums here... I'm actually building a computer for a friend - set everything up last night - but I cannot get it stable for the life of me. I could reset the CMOS jumper in my sleep at this point.

Specs...

Moblie Athlon 64 3000
MSI K8N Neo Platinum
A gig of Corsair Value Select 3200 (512x2)
That and a 9800 pro, CD drive etc etc - on a Fortron 530w.

I must admit - I've never really done any OC'ing before. - I'm not even trying to OC at this point though -_-; My personal PC is a AXP2000 with an Asus motherboard that has everything locked =) So I can't say I've ever done much tweaking period. I can assemble it but I'm still learning everything regarding timings - which is why I'm asking for help =)

The 3000s have a maxed 9x multiplier - no? Every time I load it up on 9 x 200 - no boot. I've tried bumping the voltage up in the 1.7s with still no luck...

Again - I'm not trying to toss the burden on you guys - I just built the PC for the girlfriend's brother and I'm trying to get it stable - granted a small OC would be nice... (SLK948U w/ 92mm Tornado Rheo'd - it can handle it... I'm actually surprised at how cool this thing was running 2x 120s on the antec plus the tornado - CPU was at 32 idle with fairly low RPMs on the Tornado.)

If you guys could give me a hand - I'd very honestly appreciate it... Getting this thing to run at the stock 1.8 ghz would even be a step up. I've got a lot to learn - no doubt about that. I'm only going to be here for another day though and I'd at least like to get the thing running for the kid.

Thanks in advance for all of the assistance.