• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Athlon 64 X2 5000+ OC question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Siberion24

Hello,

I'm relatively new to OC'ing and completely new to the forum, so if I make a fool of myself, I appologize in advance.

Due to budget constraints I'm currently trying to OC my "over the hill" 5000+ (no BE).
I've read the 1,2,3 guide and the am2 expansion, and a lot of forum talk.

I can't seem to set my base clock above 230MHz although I've seen many OC's above this mark.
I've set my HT to 600, my multi to 8x (can't seem to get it lower without it automatically ressetting to 11 to 13), DDR at 400 and Vcore at 1.35.

Now for the my question: Is there any way to further up my clock?

If the answer is upping the NB voltage,... well I can't seem to find where I can change it in my BIOS.

My specs:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+
MSI K9N SLI Platinum
2 x 1Gb Kingston 667Mhz (currently looking to scavenge some 2Gb 800 sticks)
2 x 1Gb Hynix 667Mhz
2 x nVidia 7900 GTO in SLI
Running Vista 64 Home Premium SP2

Thanks in advance

I can't seem to set my base clock above 230MHz although I've seen many OC's above this mark. = Each piece of silicon is different. So do not assume what others have done, that you will also do. That is not a valid assumption.

I've set my HT to 600 = That might be okay.

I've set my multi to 8x = Why? 230 x 8 is only 1840 Mhz and less than the stock 2600Mhz of the processor.

I've set my DDR to 400 = You have already overclocked your DDR667 Ram and then to overclock it some more when using 230FSB is MORE than the ram can run most likely.

I've set my Vcore to 1.35V = That is nothing but Default or stock voltage and n0t nearly enough to try and overclock the cpu to 230 x 13 which is 2990Mhz or 390Mhz of an overclock.