• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

BEST 2013 AMD CHIP+MOBO FOR VM's+LOW POWER

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

vmguy

Hey guys. I'm an experienced pc tech and this is my career but I am lost with getting this done the right way.

I'm on the road ALOT doing various jobs, and travel with my camper. That being said, I'm trying to figure out the BEST 2013 AMD set up custom build or oem, for running Virtual Machines. It might be hosted from VMware server (which is free), or i might use ESXi or Oracle VM server (based on Xen), also free.

My problem is that, to make a long story short, a lot of times wherever I stay I have to plug my camper (30 amp plug) in to a NORMAL outlet (115v and 15-20 amps). So I'm very limited with the kind of power draw I can use if I also want to run my A/C and router and laptop and LCD and cell chargers, and yeah, you get the idea. Also, it does get hot and I'd rather not run my A/c when I'm not home, but of course the VM desktop would have to be running! I've had a previous dell tower amd x2 3800 with 7600 gt card that would not even turn on in my camper....So yeah, you get the idea.

So the best chip+mobo combo for this would probably have to be a 65w chip. Given the situation, I probably cannot run a new fx-81xx chip, right? So the next best thing, maybe a 6 core fx? or 1090? 1055? phenom x2 65w? And any cooling tips are very welcome.

Any ideas guys?

Why AMD? Intel rules the low power draw / high performance lands. Brutally. With an iron fist.
You might want to do some testing as to how much of what quality power is available. If a x2 3800 / 7600gt won't even POST, you're stuck in SuperLowerPowerMindNumbinglySlow Llano/Atom land.