• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best Liquid cooling setup for quiet Corsair 250D Mini-ITX rig

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pineapplejam

Hi, I'm new to water cooling but I've done a fair amount of research on the topic. I've built ATX and mATX rigs before and they were a little too big for my liking. Had so much empty space and took up a lot of desk room. Also I am going to be carrying this thing around with me quite a bit so I want something small. That being said I am planning on building a small form factor mITX water cooled rig. I am not going to run a lot of hardware in it and will only be using 1 video card. Here is a list of the parts I am going with:
-ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming Z170 Gaming-ITX/ac Motherboard
-Intel i7-6700K CPU (Overclocking as much as possible)
-AMD R9 Fury Nano (Overclocking as much as possible)
-16GB DDR4 Ram (haven't decided exactly what kind)
-SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 128 or 256GB SSD
-Haven't Decided on a psu yet

As you can see, it's a very minimal spec list. My question is, what is the best liquid cooling setup/kit for this kind of setup?
-How many radiators and what kind will I need?
-AF or SP fans? I want this to be an almost silent build but I am more concerned about maintaining lower temps. If AF fans will be significantly quieter and just a few degrees higher than SP fans that's not a problem.
-I really like the D5 pump and want to use that but I'm not sure if it will fit in this kind of build. Open to suggestion on pumps.
-What is a good reservoir for this build?

Ultimately my goal is a powerful gaming rig (1440p and maybe 4k) but I want it to be small and quiet. Lastly, I don't really want to spend a fortune on the cooling system ($250 max). Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Last edited: