• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best MP3 player?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Pollux

I'm looking for an MP3 player with solid-state memory for around $100 (or less). What do you guys recommend?

looking for any fancy feature in particular?

I'm no expert in mp3 player, but I did bought one with one feature in mind.
I got a very basic player, this particular one http://www.canadacomputers.com/main.php?do=ShowProduct&cmd=pd&pid=015574&cid=MP.29

Notice the difference between this and almost all the other ones? well it uses 1 AA. Cheaper to buy and last longer than AAA. I don't really care for lithium battery, you have to recharge it and if it dies, you have to send it back.
My player lasted about 30hrs on a cheappy battery (less than a quarter for one). It'll probably last 42hrs as claimed if I use a Duracell or an Energizer.

Anyhow, something you might want to consider.

Cowon U3! It is loud and sounds really nice. It will support most major music formats, and can play video too. The only drawback for that $100 or so. It is just 2 gigs, but it makes up for it in so many ways.

It powers my Grado(80 &125) headphoens alright and I really do not need an amp. Other smaller phones I never found out how loud the U3 took them unamped. It was just too loud.

I am not a fan of Cowon, but it is a good player for the price. I have to give credit where credit is due. It a a good player, and I do not need any software to do music. Just convert videos to the proper size. (Hint: on the iaudiophile forums. There is a drag and drop converter.) The player works great under any OS I used so far.

The other player I would recommend is the (Dane-Elec) Meizu. Screen is a tad larger, but not as loud as the U3. It has good-excellent sound quality like the Cowon's. Just not as loud.