• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Best thermal paste these days?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

BugFreak

So I've been using the same tube of MX-4 for many years now but the tube is running low and needs replacement. I don't see as much chatter about paste as I used to so is the same old stuff still good or is there a particular type that stands out these days?

The Toms is a little old and I was hoping for some up to date info. While Google is always good, it is the internet after all so I take most comparisons with a grain of salt. I was hoping to get some opinions from members.

Thanks, had not seen the SPCR one though. Good to know my trusty MX-4 is still holding up well.

Yeah. I get that. I just pulled the two from the top that I trust as sources. The last one from us is in 2004. The one from tom's may be long in the tooth but I still think it's valid. SPCR is a source that I've used for many years. I'm still on an old tube of stuff I got several years ago. I haven't purchased any in a long time. hopefully you get a more specific response.

I really like Thermalright TF8. They make one step up called TFX, but I went with a 6 gram tube of the middle of the road stuff. On paper it’s slightly better than the TG stuff, but I haven’t used it.

Yep mx4 is still the best value. I use it for everything but my own rig. I like to branch out some and try the high end stuff on my rigs, well, just cuz. Right now im using prolimatech pk3 its really good. Right up there with thermal grizzly. Tf8 is also really solid. Im going to give something else a try next time i need a new tube o paste but i always keep a big tube of mx4 in my toolbox for generic stuff regardless. You can never have enough thermal paste!