• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Building New PC, Have Ideas, Suggestions?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kawzman

I'm putting a new pc together. I'm still a beginner in the pc realm but I've been researching for a few months now and here's what i was thinking about putting together...

-1080AMG Performance Plus ATX Tower
-Asus Motherboard Model# A7N8X Deluxe
-AMD ATHLON XP 3000 "Barton" 400MHz FSB PROCESSOR CPU- OEM
-VANTEC AeroFlow VA4-C7040. For AMD socket A 462 and Intel 370/FC-PGA/FC-PGA2
-CORSAIR MEMORY XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series, (Twin Pack) 1GB(2 x 512MB) 2x(64MX64) TWINX1024-3200C2 PRO Matched Pair
-Asus Geforce FX 5600 Video Card 256MB DDR Model V9560TD

The greatest uncertainty i have is in the video card area, greatest weakness in pc knowledge. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Cheers,
Kawzman

Case is great

Motherboard is ok, i'd prefer a abit nf7-s

CPU is good, but a barton will yeild the same or even better overclock for a much cheaper price

I have a hard time recomending any other heatsink other then thermalright, although i supose i have heard good tihngs about the aeroflow

Memory is good, i'm sure there are better options (i'm not a "memory guy"

Unless you can get a 5900 i'd go ATI, with the money you'd save going with a 2500 maybe you could afford a 9800 non pro

Case = good++

Motherboard = I have one, very happy with it

CPU = If you want to overclock, you may be able to find a JIUHB stepping XP1700 or XP1800 that goes up to that speed. Or alternatively buy a Barton core 2500+ - most newer steppings get 2.3ghz on air, well beyond a 3000+ speed. Plus you save money for the video card.